Ways to get relief from sore nipples

In continuation to my last post My Story-Breastfeeding and the sore nipples , I thought to share the ways I got rid of sore nipples and also got relief while breast feeding.

Sore nipples during the initial stage of breast feeding is very common and experienced by almost all ,I envy you if you are amongst the few who didn’t have to go through it ;).And if you are one of those fighting the battle just try the methods I used to get relief from the sore nipples and eventually mastered the skill of breast feeding along with my baby.

First and the most important thing to do is while breast feeding is to make your baby learn how to latch.When the baby is hungry he will get up and start feeding without properly latching to the breast.This causes abrasion of the nipples with the most hard surface of the mouth of the baby and hence they get sore.

If you feel the pain while breastfeeding that means the baby has not latched properly.Insert your fore finger from the side corners of the mouth of the baby and try to remove your breast by losing the grip of the baby.Never try to pull your breast away as it will leave you with more pain and abrasion.I did it once and it worsened the situation as my baby got cranky and my nipple was badly hurt.

While you latch the baby while feeding make sure you insert the nipple along with areolae into the mouth of the baby ,it is very important that the baby latches on the areolae .Reason is simple when the baby latches nipples along with areolae the nipples touches the most soft part of the mouth and the hard part is touched by areolae as areolae is not a sensitive part it doesn’t get  hurt while feeding.

If your nipples are sore and hurting make sure you offer the breast which hurt the least first to the baby.

Apply coconut oil on regular interval to your nipples.This will help your nipples stay hydrated and will avoid drying , dry nipples get sore easily.

As I mentioned in my last post use a nip shield .I highly recommend a Nip Shield if the pain is unbearable and you are thinking of quitting and switching to formula.Give Nip Shield a try.With my personal experience I can recommend this, It will help your nipples recover and will help the baby learn to latch without hurting you.

There are creams available in the market for sore nipples like nip cure or nip care, take advise from your doctor and use it.Make sure you wipe the cream off with a wet cloth before offering your baby feed.I use to apply in one and offer the baby other and the next time would offer the other and apply on the other one. It was difficult for me to apply on both as my baby would get up every half an hour or one hour for feed.

Apply your breast milk to the nipples after every feed. The hind milk is rich in anti bacteria  and helps in healing.

Try to feed as frequently as possible, I know it is difficult and pain makes it almost impossible but believe me the more you feed in fact the more frequently you feed more the baby learns to latch properly and also will be less hungry. Less hunger means making the baby learn latching by removing breast and re-attaching will be easier.

Try and try until you succeed just remember that it is new for both of you and the best way is to give each other some time and learn it together.

Hope my tips would help you get rid of the pain and will make your breast feeding journey a little easier.

 

 

20 thoughts on “Ways to get relief from sore nipples

  1. alpanadeo says:

    Very very useful tips. Luckily I hadn’t faced this for a long period. Initially, I had also gone through this pain but I also did the same things what you mentioned. Not giving up is very important but if gets unbearable then better to seek help as tensed mamma cannot feed her baby calmly…

    Great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

