Sensorial Activity-Sensory Board

Nirvaan has started understanding a lot more than I expect him to, he is currently 17 months old and surprises every now and then by understanding difficult instructions.It just makes me feel proud and I assume every parent feel the same.He tries to name the feelings.I recently got hold of a sensorial peek a boo puzzle and we had so much fun this week while it was there in our montessori tray.

So I thought let me share it with all of you, usually sensorial activities are something we do out of the play area as they are messy or requires lot of cleaning.But this week the sensorial tray was very much in the play area.This is how the board looks like I tried searching online if it available in India but couldn’t find one.

IMG_2698.JPG

But I guess it can be DIYed ,will try one pretty soon and update on my blog.

It has different textures like velvet, felt cloth , a rough patch and it can be covered and with the wooden knobs as shown in the pic below

IMG_2699.JPG

How we play with it

  • First day it was all free play I left it on his shelf for him to discover and play.All he did was to put the knob back as he thought its a puzzle.
  • Second day I sat with him and made him touch different textures and named them rough, velvety and so on.
  • Third day it was pretty much the same and Baby N didn’t show much of interest in it. I didn’t force him to either.
  • The fourth day I played the peek a boo game with him which was a big hit.I would just lift the knob and say velvety and then keep it back for him to lift it feel it chuckle and keep the knob back.
  • It was on our Montessori Tray for just four days on rotation basis as I was alternating it.
  • Nirvaan enjoyed the mirror and laughed a lot seeing his own nose,mouth in the mirror.FullSizeRender 2 copy.jpg
  • Velvety was his favourite texture and the rough one was called uuieย his language for hot, rough or pain.

The last row has the matching Knobs as puzzle but N paid no attention or interest in doing it.

IMG_2702.JPG

This is going to be repeated pretty often till the time little N starts naming and identifying the texture.It can be used for both language and sensorial activities in the Montessori shelf.

Leave a Reply

