I Won’t Unschool My Son, I Will Raise A Regular School Boy Like This

Before I discuss why I want to unschool myself and open my story for debate/discussion, I wish to take you all to the time when I was in school.

I was a very mediocre student with very less aspirations, I wanted to take up a field that involved lesser study. Without being attentive in class I scored pretty well. Way higher than my counter parts, who were actually very intelligent. I used to look down upon them. I used to think, “What low level of intelligence these people have, they answer in class so well, they can carry an intelligent conversation but still can’t score more than I do. What is the use of all that intelligent conversations and knowing more than what was needed.”

My friends were the rebels, not me. I did what the system wanted me to do, mug right before the exam, puke it out on the paper and feel fresh again for a new session with no uneasy feeling of the past, just like a clean slate.

Read the full article here

I Won’t Unschool My Son, I Will Raise A Regular School Boy Like This

14 thoughts on “I Won’t Unschool My Son, I Will Raise A Regular School Boy Like This

  1. beautyboozeandbudgeting says:

    “I want my boy to have friends, girlfriends too. I want him to make choices and choose his friends rather than just be friends because he doesn’t have options being home schooled.”
    Actually, I strongly disagree with this. It’s an assumption that a lot of people share, unfortunately. One could also assume that a publicly-educated child has less choices because they’re in class and their life is assigned. I already said all this in my latest entry, which is why I was browsing the “homeschool” tag.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rooshna says:

    This is so important. Placing all children in the same thresholds and expecting them to work and score like machines is jus not sensible. What we need is to bring out every child’s uniqueness n work on building it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

