How to make Play Dough at home

So after  Slime I really wanted to make play dough at home because I seriously can’t let my baby play with the one available in the market.The curiosity level at this stage knows no boundaries and I don’t ever want those play dough to end up in my baby’s digestive system ever.

Apart from being completely non toxic and edible the quantity also is more when we make it at home plus its super cheap and stays in the fridge for good 15-20 days as compared to the market ones which usually dries up in one use.

Here is the recipe

Ingredients 


All purpose flour (one cup)

salt (1/4 cup)

water (as desired for softness)

Food colour

How to 

First take little water and mix the salt to dissolve it completely once the salt is dissolved in water add it to the flour and mix it properly. After mixing he salt & water add few drops of food colour into the flour mix it and start adding water to knead the dough.

Softness of the dough will depend on the kneading so I suggest kneading properly.

It can be stored in an air tight jar or zip pouch in the refrigerator for almost 20 days.

My experience 

Kids get bored very easily and to keep them engaged overtime coming up with new ideas is practically impossible and it is good for them to get bored, As boredom is mother of creativity. As a parent our job is to provide them the right environment and keeping themselves busy should be their job.

Open ended plays like play dough requires very less involvement from parents end and keep them busy for hours together. Nuture their imagination and can be very satisfying as well.


If you are introducing to an one year old I suggest you let them explore on their own rather then teaching them to make figures out of the play dough.Give them the shape cuter etc but let them explore on their own.

Check out how Nirvaan had fun with his home made play dough

21 thoughts on “How to make Play Dough at home

  1. Minakshi bajpai says:

    Thats really cool dear i never know that this play dough can be made at home also. My daughter love to play with it. She likes to make many things with these colourful dough. I will Definitely make this for her. She will loved this. Thanks for sharing

    Like

  2. vaidehiyoutube says:

    I love this diy and I will try it with my toddler who is deiving me nuts from past couple of days.Oh!! I need to buy food colour for the diy.

    Like

  3. Veens says:

    I love making playdough at home too ❀ it is like make atta for chapati, just that adding a little coloring takes it to a whole new level. This recipe looks super simple ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

